I’m afraid that we develop such deadly familiarity with …

“I’m afraid that we develop such deadly familiarity with the words of Scripture that they lose their impact on us. We say “The Son of God loved me and gave Himself for me,” but we neither gasp nor weep. We reel off similar verses with little or no emotion. We preach this truth so blandly and matter-of-factly that it does not bring us or our listeners to their knees. We are guilty of what someone called the curse of a dry-eyed Christianity. Constantly we need to come back to the awesome reality that it was our Savior-God who died for us.”

-from p.22 of “My Heart, My Life, My All” by William MacDonald.

Leave a Reply

