The basis of faith is…

The basis of faith is the testimony of God concerning His Son-the testimony of God as we find it in holy Scripture. I do not believe Christ Jesus to be the Son of God because of anything I feel within myself, but because God Himself declares Him to be such; neither do I trust my soul with Jesus because of certain emotions felt within, but because God, in the book which I accept as His testimony, declares that He has set forth Jesus to be the propitiation for sin.
In the Bible I see that God Himself witnesses that whosoever trusts Jesus is thereby forgiven, accepted, and saved, and therefore I trust Him. We have no other foundation for our faith to rest upon than the witness of God. “If we receive the witness of men, the witness of God is greater.” The testimony of God is surely enough for us. Dare we ask more?

– Charles Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

